Tester & Watson crowned fairest and best drivers!

Albany Speedway Club wrapped up their 2016-17 season recently with a fantastic presentation night held at long time sponsor and supporter Motel Le Grande.

More than 80 people were in attendance to help celebrate another massive season of speedway at our Attwell Park venue and to recognise the deserving award winners across a number of categories.

Formula 125 star Jacinta Tester upstaged her close rival Sam Jewell to be crowned the senior fairest and best at the awards, capping off a stellar season for the talented racer where she also finished fourth in the State title.

Jacinta Tester drove superbly throughout the calendar year, regularly winning races amongst stiff opposition with Sam Jewell, Braiden Jewell, Bill Beeck and Nathen Tester always proving tough to beat.

Adding to her terrific season, she also finished second in the formula 125 overall points.

In her final year of junior sedan racing, Brooke Watson was crowned fairest and best in the division for the second year running.

Watson was a dominant force here in Albany during the season and performed with distinction away from her home track as well in the gruelling JSRA series.

The 17-year-old was also voted the junior sedan drivers’ driver from her peers and finished second in the junior points standings.

Sam Jewell was again crowned club champion, for the highest point scoring driver in the club, his season netting him 630 points which also earned him first place in the division.

The formula 125 drivers’ driver also went the way of Sam Jewell.

Emerging production sedan competitor Ryan Penn was named the most improved senior driver and Hope Batchelor won the most improved junior while Blane Devonshire took home the senior rookie of the year trophy.

Nathan Penn (senior), Craig Tester (open wheeler) and Batchelor (junior) won their respective best presented categories and among other awards given out Sam Jewell received the presidents’ award.


2016-17 Season Awards

Junior Sedans

Overall Points

First – Bianca Kennedy 401 points (Sponsor – RE BOYD EARTHMOVING)

Second – Brooke Watson 380 points (REGAL PANEL BEATERS)

Third – Hayden Mortimer 276 points (THE TROPHY SHOP)

Fourth – Hope Batchelor 182 points (ALBANY ELITE EARTHMOVING)


Drivers’ Driver – Brooke Watson 9 votes (PROMOTIONS AUTOMOTIVE)


Formula 125s

Overall Points

First – Sam Jewell 630 points (CENTRAL SPRAYPAINTERS)

Second – Jacinta Tester 533 points (A1 SANBLASTING)

Third – Bill Beeck 344 points (KEN STONE MOTOR TRIMMERS)


Drivers’ Driver – Sam Jewell 16 votes (AUSWEST 4 X 4)


Production Sedans

Overall Points

First – Mike Kinnear 420 points (DOWSETT’S AUTOMOTIVE)

Second – Rob Wolfenden 296 points (CLARK TYRES)

Third – Shane Devonshire 282 points (BALL BODY BUILDERS)


Drivers’ Driver – Ron Belfield & Mike Kinnear 10 votes (LANGERS AUTOMOTIVE)


Modified Sedans

Drivers’ Driver – Aydan Trewern 8 votes (ALBANY PRINTERS)



Best Crash – Nathen Tester (AUTO ONE ALBANY)


Best Presented Junior – Hope Batchelor (R & L BITUMEN)


Best Presented Senior – Nathan Penn (BARRETT’S TREE SERVICE)


Best Presented Open Wheeler – Craig Tester (S & M DOYLE)


Rookie of the Year Senior – Blane Devonshire (ALBANY SIGNS)


Most Improved Junior – Hope Batchelor (FRONTLINE AUTOMOTIVE)


Most Improved Senior – Ryan Penn (REGAL PANEL BEATERS)


Fairest and Best Junior – Brooke Watson (KINNEAR BROS ELECTRICAL)


Fairest and Best Senior – Jacinta Tester (ALL TECH MECHANICAL)


Club Champion – Sam Jewell (THEYER AUTOMOTIVE)


Presidents Award – Sam Jewell